Equality framework for local government

The equality standard for local government is a framework which local authorities can use to make sure that they are compliant with equality legislation.

The Standard was prepared by the Local Government Association together with the various equalities commissions and has five key areas:

  • Understanding and Working with your Communities
  • Leadership
  • Partnership and Organisational Commitment
  • Responsive Services and Customer Care
  • Diverse and Engaged Workforce

The equality framework for local government measures equality performance against three levels of attainment: ‘Developing’, ‘Achieving’ and ‘Excellent’. North Kesteven District Council is currently at the ‘Achieving’ level of the framework.