General election 2019

Date Published: 13 December 2019

Two thirds of the votes cast in the Sleaford & North Hykeham Constituency were in support of the winning Conservative candidate.

Dr Caroline Johnson retained her seat in the 2019 General Election with 44,683 votes, carving out an enlarged winning margin of 32,565 votes – 13,119 up on the last contest in June 2017.

This was the second December general election for 100 years but Dr Johnson’s second in just three years after she initially won a by-election in December 2016.

Her percentage share of the vote was 67%, on a turnout of 70.5% as 66,790 of an eligible 94,761 electorate took up their vote.

Most of North Kesteven, and parts of South Kesteven fall within the Sleaford & North Hykeham Constituency. Skellingthorpe, Bracebridge Heath and uphill Waddington form a part of the Lincoln Constituency which elected Conservative Karl McCartney with a 3,514 majority.

In her acceptance speech Dr Johnson said she hoped to build on her achievements over the last three years. “I will work extremely hard, making sure that we deliver the things that we have promised: to get Brexit done, improve services for the NHS, improve schools, infrastructure and support for our Armed Forces, agricultural communities and others.”

In total there were 116 polling stations across the Sleaford constituency, with 54,979 people voting at a ballot box and 11,824 of the 13,541 issued postal votes returned ( a return rate of 87.32%) . Total electorate was 94,761 which is one of the country’s highest.

Full results

Sleaford & North Hykeham

  • Caroline Coram, Independent – 657
  • Oliver Craven, Liberal Democrats – 5,355
  • Linda Edwards-Shea, Labour Party – 12,118
  • Caroline Johnson, The Conservative Party Candidate – 44,683
  • Marianne Overton, Lincolnshire Independents – 1,999
  • Simon Tooke, Green Party – 1,742


  • Rob Bradley, Independent – 609
  • Sally Horscroft, Green – 1,195
  • Caroline Kenyon, Liberal Democrat – 2,422
  • Karen Lee, Labour – 20,753
  • Karl McCartney, Conservative –24,267
  • Charles Shaw, Liberal Party – 304
  • Reece Wilkes, Brexit Party – 1,079
Dr Caroline Johnson MP, giving her acceptance speech
Ian Fytche, declaring the results
Ian Fytche, declaring the results