

Rural Designation

The Housing (Right to Buy) (Designated Rural Areas and Designated Regions) (England) Order 2018 – No 265

Following an Order laid before Parliament on 1 March 2018, parts of North Kesteven District Council now form an area designated by the Secretary of State as a Rural Area.

This means that applications for the Right to Buy, in the Rural Area, submitted from 1 July 2018 will be subject to Section 157 of the Housing Act 1985.

This provision means that onward sale of properties, bought under the Right to Buy in the Rural Area, are subject to a covenant meaning that one party involved in the subsequent purchase must have lived or worked, (or a combination of both), in the North Kesteven District for three years immediately prior to the purchase. This covenant would remain binding on all future purchasers of the property.

The properties affected by this legislation fall within the parishes coloured green on the attached map of North Kesteven. Properties in the areas, coloured orange on the plan, are not subject to this Rural Area covenant, due to their population statistics. However, they will remain subject to a covenant giving the Council the Right of First Refusal to buy the property back within 10 years of its initial purchase.