Parliamentary Boundaries Review 2023

Latest News

The second stage of consultation on Parliamentary Constituency boundaries ended on Monday 4 April 2022. 

What will the 2023 review do?

The ‘2023 Review’ is reviewing all the Parliamentary Constituency Boundaries for 650 constituencies across the UK. Within England there are 543 constituencies of which 47 are in the East Midlands region. More information on the 2023 Review is available on the Boundary Commission for England website.

The Review will look to make sure all Parliamentary constituencies have roughly the same number of electors within 5% of the same total. The Review aims to achieve improved electoral balance arrangements so that a constituency contains no less than 69,724 Parliamentary electors, and no more than 77,062 (except two ‘protected’ constituencies for the Isle of Wight).

The review will be based on the local authority ward boundaries as at 1 December 2020. For the first time in this type of review it will include use of boundaries that were legally ‘made’ by that date, even though not yet implemented at a subsequent election. NKDC has recently undergone an Electoral Review by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England (LGBCE) and approved by Parliament in September 2021. The new boundaries from the Electoral review will take effect in May 2023. For the ‘2023 Review’ of constituency boundaries the current ward boundaries will be used. 

Viewing the Proposals

The ‘Sleaford and North Hykeham Constituency’ is within the East Midlands Region.  As a District, it is proposed that North Kesteven is split between three constituencies of ‘Sleaford and North Hykeham’, ‘Grantham’ and ‘Lincoln’.

More information including the proposals for the North Kesteven district can be viewed on the Boundary Commission website 

Who conducts this review?

The Boundary Commission for England (BCE) will carry out the 2023 review. There is a Boundary Commission for each of the 4 parts of the UK who will determine the constituency boundaries in their area. A statutory formula is applied to the electorate figures to share out the 650 constituencies across the four countries of the UK and all regions.  

What happens next?

The consultation on the second stage of consultation for new Parliamentary boundaries ended on 4 April 2022. The Boundary Commission for England (BCE) will consider the responses received during the consultation and will released their final proposals in late 2022. We will update the website when the final proposals are released.

The full timetable for the 2023 Review is shown below.

The Boundary Commission have also released a guide which provides a detailed description of the process for conducting the review which is also available on the BCE website

Timetable for the 2023 Review

  • January 2021: Begin development of initial proposals;
  • Spring 2021: Publish ‘Guide to the 2023 Review’, and ward-level electorate figures for areas with ‘prospective’ wards;
  • 8 June – 2 August 2021: Publish initial proposals and conduct eight-week written consultation; 
  • 7 February 2022: Publish submissions made in the first consultation
  • 22 February – 4 April 2022: Publish responses to initial proposals and conduct six-week ‘secondary consultation’, including between two and five public hearings in each region
  • Late 2022: Publish revised proposals and conduct four-week written consultation
  • June 2023: Submit and publish final report and recommendations.

Full details of the 2023 Review timetable and more information can be viewed on the Boundary Commission for England website.

Some FAQ's

Will the changes affect my local council services, bin collections or schools, for example?

No. The boundary changes only relate to Parliamentary constituencies (the area an MP is elected to represent in Parliament). Services and council tax in your local area are set by your local authority and this review does not change local authority boundaries.

When will the new constituencies take effect?

When the BCE has decided on its final recommendations for the whole of England, it then drafts and submits a formal written report to the Speaker of the House of Commons and will contain a description of the review in each region, a textual description of all the final recommendations, and a set of maps to illustrate the existing boundaries and those proposed by the final recommendations.

The procedure to subsequently implement new constituencies is the responsibility of the Government.  After the final report from all four Parliamentary Boundary Commissions has been laid by the Speaker, the Government is required to submit to the Privy Council an Order that gives effect to all four Commissions’ recommendations. After the Privy Council approves the Order, the new constituencies take effect at the next General Election. Any by-elections held in the meantime have to be held on the basis of the old (existing) constituencies.

Will the name of my constituency change following the review?

Possibly. As well as looking at where the boundaries of constituencies should be, the BCE will recommend a specific name for each constituency. Generally, the more a constituency has changed, the more likely it is that the BCE will recommend a change of name.