Parliamentary Boundary Review 2018

Final report

The Boundary Commission for England has completed its review of Parliamentary boundaries and their 2018 Boundary Review report on proposed constituency changes has recently been laid in Parliament.  Parliament will now consider the recommendations, which must be voted on by both Houses of Parliament. 

If approved, the new constituency boundaries will be in place at the next General Election.

What is being proposed?

The Commission has not proposed any substantial changes to the boundaries affecting North Kesteven district from their initial consultation in 2016. 

The proposed changes rename the Sleaford and North Hykeham constituency to the Sleaford constituency, with a revised electorate of approximately 74,561 (previously around 86,652 based on 2015 Electoral Register).

Essentially the key proposed changes include:

  • All North Hykeham and Waddington West District Wards will move to the ‘Lincoln’  constituency which will be renamed to ‘Lincoln and North Hykeham’ 
  • ‘Bracebridge Heath and Waddington East’ District Ward will move to the ‘Sleaford’ constituency (this is currently in Lincoln constituency)
  • ‘Kirkby la Thorpe and South Kyme’ and ‘Heckington Rural’ District Wards will move to ‘Boston and Skegness’ constituency 
  • The Sleaford constituency will still include several wards from South Kesteven district

How can you view the recommendations?

The published recommendations can be found at the Boundary Commission’s website.

Any further questions about the implementation of the Commission’s recommendations should be put to the Government.