Council information

Who we are and what we do

We are a local government district in the East Midlands and one of the seven districts in Lincolnshire, located at the centre of the county.

We are based in Sleaford, but also serve over 100 distinctive rural villages. Our staff work side-by-side with 43 democratically-elected councillors. Political leadership is provided by the councillors who are elected by residents in elections held every four years (the last of which was held in May 2023). Once elected, the Councillors in turn elect their own Leader, who then appoints an Executive Board. The Executive Board is at the heart of the day-to-day decision making process. Major items of policy, such as the setting of the Council’s budget, are decided by all Councillors at the Full Council meeting. The Executive Board has a key role in proposing the budget and policy framework to the Council. Every elected member and officer of the council follows the Council’s Constitution, the legal framework within which the Council operates.

We are responsible for services including council tax, housing, licensing, rubbish collection and recycling. 

If you are looking for information on our policies and procedures please visit our policies page, or you can search for the latest decisions we and our committees have made. Your thoughts and experiences help us make better decisions. To give us your opinions, or to view consultation results please visit our consultation page.