Cookie Policy

This website works best using cookies. You can find out more and change your settings any time but by continuing you agree to this.

Council Services:

Political structure

Political leadership is provided by the Councillors who are elected by residents.

Elections are held every four years, the last one being May 2011. The 43 seats are currently broken down like this :-

  • The Conservative Group - 27
  • Lincolnshire Independent North Kesteven Group - 7
  • Hykeham Independent Group - 3
  • NK Independent Group - 2
  • Skellingthorpe Independent Group - 2
  • Unaligned – 2

NKDC is therefore controlled by the majority - the Conservative Group.

Once elected, the Councillors in turn elect their own Leader, who then appoints an Executive Board. In December 2010, the Council voted to adopt the Strong Leader and Executive model in line with the Local Government and Public Involvement in Health Act 2007. This means that the Leader of the Council is elected by Full Council for a 4-year term.  

The Executive Board is at the heart of the day-to-day decision making process. Major items of policy, such as the setting of the Council’s budget, are decided by all Councillors at the Full Council meeting. The Executive Board has a key role in proposing the budget and policy framework to the Council.

A full breakdown of the Political Management Structure is available in the Downloads tab at the top of the page.

Did you find what you were looking for?

Please give us your name, email address and any comments you have.

Last updated: 19 November 2014

Bookmark with:

What are these?


Powered by Webstructure.NET